Happy Mother’s Day, and a Simple Treat

Yes, Everybody I know I am a day late! I am a mother though, don’t I get a break? And, this year mother’s day fell on the same day as my daughter’s 10th birthday. I can see it now, many, many years from now when these occasions are merged again, the two of us sipping margaritas on a cruise ship somewhere…

Anyway, I spent most of my day yesterday not waiting for a seat in a noisy, crowded cafe, or suffering through some awful performance. I was lying on the sofa, nice and cozy as sheets of rain fell outside the window. Yeah, Mother’s day MY way!

I found some organic strawberries on sale at the market this week. I try to buy organic strawberries when they are available and when they don’t cost a king’s ransom because they are in the top 5 most heavily pesticide-laden produce items: (peaches, strawberries, apples, spinach, nectarines).

I bought four cartons of organic strawberries. I can’t let those precious berries go bad! We love to make smoothies but I also enjoy them in a strange way that I found in French Women Don’t Get Fat. That is in a dessert dish with balsamic vinegar drizzled on top. It sounded so ridiculous when I read it but the scientific me had to give it a try. It’s actually good! I don’t know how, but the balsamic vinegar enhances the strawberry flavor, seriously. Try it! Now the catch is that you have to use some good quality balsamic vinegar.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula
    May 12, 2008 @ 18:16:06

    I am so proud of you. And, I’m glad you didn’t need to beat down sista-girl for stealing your prose. Allow your Goddess to continue to shine. And now that I know the difference between Diva and Goddess, just call me Goddess of Love!!!

    Reply

  2. Afra
    May 12, 2008 @ 19:18:59

    Way to go Lisa! The Blog is amazing. I haven’t thought of Run DMC in a long time.

    Reply

  3. Fafa
    May 13, 2008 @ 09:53:22

    Hmmmm……girl, all this talk about goddess and fruit and lushness and organic and natural…well, you know where my mind is…..We gotta talk about you coming down here and teaching folks a few things. This site rocks.

    Reply

  4. Mme. Meow
    May 18, 2008 @ 16:43:08

    Your blog looks great! Let’s link up ;o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

