Busyness vs. Laziness

Lisa shaking the booty

Why is everybody so busy? Why is it that I am forced to book an appointment 6 weeks in advance to have lunch with a buddy? Why do we need those cheezy morning-show “experts” to tell us that our kids are stressed out by running from soccer to ballet to a birthday party to piano lessons to book club all on a Saturday afternoon!

Hello, people, slow down and smell the flowers, taste the tea, shake your booty, pick your nose, etc. What ever happened to spontaneity? How about an impromptu cookout? Well this is not actually laziness, it is sensuality. Some folks are impressed with this all-out marathon of nonstop activities, but who really cares? Why not pay attention to what pleases your sense of taste, smell, touch, hearing, or sight, and just do it in the moment?

I am sensual. Maybe I am considered lazy. Sure, I get into trouble for every now and then for skipping an occasion or event that I think is not fun, but it’s the price I pay for sanity. I think Saturdays are for sleeping in, reading a book, conducting kitchen experiments, strolling to the open air market at no specified time, and whatever else makes me feel good. There’s nothing wrong with organized sports and birthday parties, they are great if you actually enjoy them and as long as they are not strictly obligatory, and as long as they don’t get in the way of time to smell the flowers or shake my booty.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charisse
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 21:29:12

    Lisa, I absolutely love your blog. I am all about LIVING life and not rushing or worrying too much about stuff that you have no control over. Life is too short! I plan to do a lot of booty shakin’ before mine is over!

    Reply

  2. indigoblu
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 10:26:13

    ……I always need ME time. I’m a medical student, so sometimes that can be hard to do, but if I don’t get ME (consisting of all the things I want to do and avoiding the things I do not want to do) then nothing else can get time. It’s an essential part of life to relax and take time to enjoy life instead of engaging vigorously in it day in and day out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

