Do Goddesses Tweet?

I’ve been doing some routine research on online business marketing tools for LifeBliss Solutions as business people periodically do.  Twitter keeps popping up.  I have come so close to signing up for an account just to see how this thing works.  Each time I stop just short of putting my name in the box by the notion that there is something inherently amiss with the whole idea that I would give a rat’s ass about what anybody does every moment of the day.  I just don’t.  I am sure I would not “follow” anyone.  Equally amiss would be that I am so narcissistic as to believe anybody in the world wants to latch on to my ass and follow me around for 24 hours of my day, every day.  To me this tool seems like something for a bunch of weak losers with low self esteem who need constant reassurance that they are [fill in the blank with worthy, interesting, cool, fabulous, etc.], celebrity groupies, and teenagers.

Who has time to tweet or have their ass twiggled by some random strangers all day long if they are busy living life?  You can miss so much of the moment if you are fumbling around with some electronic gadget instead of absorbing all the stimulus in the present moment.  And please, nobody write to me claiming that they are “multi-taskers”.  Multi-tasking always diminishes the full experience of the moment, PERIOD.  When your eyes are focused on a little bitty screen then the beautiful scenery around you is nothing but a sideshow in peripheral vision.  While your fingers are busy tippy-tapping on a keyboard, they can not be running through your lover’s hair.

I don’t want to tweet.

8:00 am – I am late, scurrying to the showeranti-twitter

8:01 am – Damn, there’s a pimple on my cheek

8:06 am – Wait, I’ve got to take a crap

8:18 am – Where’s my sock?

8:50 am – Should I have a smoothie or a latte?

WTF!!!!?????????  This seems excrutiatingly trite, irritating, and tedious!

I came so close to being converted when I read stories of people increasing web page traffic exponentially with Twitter.  So I took another look and read some techie articles to educate myself because boy, would I love to have a million viewers a day to my site.  But the idea as I interpret it has been that as a business you can spy on your competitors, which does not appeal to me because my services are so unique and because when you are working from a philosophy of plentitude rather than scarcity it just seems like a waste of my time.  I also learned that I can spam my followers to death.  Well, Goddesses and potential Goddesses abhor spam, and they are so intelligent that they can spot it a mile away and surely would not encourage spam abuse by spending money on spammer’s products and services.   Let’s face it:  My name is not Willie Loman and I don’t sell widgets.  I don’t have suppliers and secret proprietary potions.  LifeBliss Solutions is what it is and that’s that.

The last thing I learned is that Twitter is a great tool for networking with both potential clients and peers and generates word of mouth promotion.  Hmm, sounds good, ethical, and not unhealthy to me and holds some promise.  Which brings me to the key question:  Do Goddesses tweet?  Goddesses don’t need to tweet, the same way that we don’t need to wear t-shirts that say “Goddess” on the front. Goddesses are busy, self-assured, taking disposable time to enjoy the present moment i.e. smelling flowers, dancing, riding a bike, reading a book, laughing, admiring art, savoring chocolates, connecting with real interesting humans in real life…etc.  Why would a Goddess tweet, when she does not need others to validate her existence?  Pray, tell me this so I can confirm once and for all that besides the fact that I won’t like it, that there’s no logical economic reason for me to tweet.  I probably will not tweet but I just want to have all the information before I make the final decision.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa (tantra flower)
    May 17, 2009 @ 16:12:25

    Hi, Lisa! It is so great to see you have blogged again! I just figured out how to use my Google reader to follow blogs so I know when you and others post.

    Yes, Goddesses use Twitter! 🙂 But not to tweet every moment of our lives. In fact, I delete people from my “following” list that do that. I just ranted on my blog about this recently. lol It’s self-centered, annoying, and floods my feed, causing me to miss important messages. I only follow people with whom I share common interests. I post links to articles, inspirational quotes, the occasional haiku, or respond to other tweets.

    I usually only log on once or twice per day and do not have Twitter linked up with my cell phone. I actually hate my cell phone. It’s turned off most of the time. I use my desktop computer to check my Twitter page. Since the messages can only be 140 characters, people are forced to be concise, which is nice.

    I have found some wonderful products by clicking on the web sites of some of the people who are following me, e.g. lovely homemade soaps, comfortable and affordable yoga pants, and candles.

    I think Twitter is a great tool when it is used properly. I’m not offering services or products on Twitter, but I know what appealed to me as a consumer. All of the people I bought from did not contact me directly about their products. They just followed me, made their “about me” interesting and listed their web site. Their tweets were interesting or useful information, and they only tweeted a few times per day. This made me want to follow them and eventually visit their site.

    I totally agree with you about using Twitter to post your every move. But I think it’s a great way to keep in touch with clients and direct people to Life Bliss Solutions.

    Let me know if you decide to get an account. I’m closing my MySpace page next week because I just can’t keep up with everything. lol

    Peace and bliss, Lisa
    Namaste

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    May 17, 2009 @ 19:38:15

    Well Lisa, I have too abandoned MySpace for the most part but I can afford to check in once and a while. I am relieved to know that there is at least one person on Twitter who is not a loser, celeb groupie, or teenager. LOL

    One thing is whether I can honestly come up with anything to “tweet” a few times a day that might be of interest to complete strangers. I dunno, maybe a heath tip every day? Or sensual moments? Don’t you think that would become lame after a week or so?

    I read that I can link it to Facebook and if that takes away a little of the tedium I may try that.

    So far my decision is: MAYBE. I will keep you posted. Thanks so much for your input.

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    May 17, 2009 @ 20:21:32

    Ok so I am super-curious so I started the account. Look, It’s much more exciting to pick my nose than to read this stuff. Ashton Kutcher, Ugggghhhh! Why, why why? Help me understand.

    Reply

  4. Lisa (tantra flower)
    May 17, 2009 @ 23:24:08

    lol Don’t add anybody that you aren’t interested in. And you don’t have to follow everybody that follows you either. When I first started I felt like I should reciprocate, but then people who misunderstand tantra started following me (swingers et al, you know the types) and so I stopped that.

    Sensual moments and health tips are great and never boring. You can tweet as much or as little as you want. I haven’t done it in a couple of days.

    I have been taking time to log on every few days to check MySpace even though I’ve wanted to get rid of it for months now. To be honest with you, I just want to dump some of this stuff and not have to worry about it anymore. I feel like these services are supposed to be for enjoyment so if I stop enjoying something I should not do it anymore.

    I’ll look for you on Twitter and add you. Please add me back. I am starting to post sensual haiku. Just posted my first one last Friday (I think?)

    Peace and love to you, wonderful lady. Namaste

    Reply

  5. Lisa (tantra flower)
    May 17, 2009 @ 23:30:40

    Lisa, I cannot find you. I think it takes a few days for them to add you to the directory. Please email your username or URL to tantraflower@hotmail.com

    Thank you so much. Bliss,
    Lisa

    Reply

  6. Trackback: To Tweet or not Tweet, that is the Question… « Passion Fruit

Leave a Reply

