Have You Ever Really Tasted a Passionfruit?

I bought one recently at the market.  It was expensive but you know I didn’t care. I had passionfruit juice before and things flavored with passionfruit but this time I brought the funny-looking wrinkly purple thing home and cut it open.  The inside contains strange slimy seeds.  The aroma is sweet and exotic.  I offered it to my family but they were too chicken to try it.  Good!  More for me!  It is sweet and tart and just very tropical tasting.  I scooped it out and mixed it with some thick Greek yogurt and it was delicious.  I am sure that passionfruit would make an excellent smoothie with some pineapple and mango.

Leave a Reply

