Affirm Your Dream Today!

Greetings fellow Goddesses! Whew! Life has taken me on a whirlwind tour as of late and I just had to jot a few thoughts out to you, since I’ve been so inspired. The power of  “Be and It Is” should not keep shocking me but as I sit and reflect on some of my own personal accomplishments I’m floored by the power of positive affirmation. Without going too far into the Yay Mee story let me just give you the short gist of what’s been going on.

A few months back I had my 31st birthday. Not the milestone 30th but for some reason I felt that milestone angst you get when you turn the corner on your twenties. I decided to mark this year as my 31st year of firsts, I scribbled out a short list (which has since grown) of first experiences I wanted to have this year and I hit the ground running with the idea. Now some of this may have to do with my sun sign. As an Aquarius I have about the most impulsive sign in the zodiac, and anyone who knows me would agree that I encapsulate impulsivity. But it’s something else altogether when a myriad of impulses come together to forge one linear and focused path, and even more strange when that path is the most improbable imaginable. Well however improbable, here is where I find myself and the only thing I can attribute to this is the power of concise affirmation.

A few months back I made a declaration, not so much of things I wanted, cause things are trivial, but of a way of being that I desired. Now it just so happens that this way of being brings those trivial things I mentioned earlier, but I can’t be held to the fire for that! At any rate, I know I’m no Houdini, and I’m no more special or powerful than the rest of you Goddesses, so my message to you today is a simple one. If you’re not living the existence you want to live, AFFIRM IT!

First decide on what you want or where you want to be. Picture yourself there.  See yourself doing whatever it is you want to do. Word of advice…pick one path or you’ll drag yourself in a million and one directions! (take it from me) Once you see yourself, and I mean, really picture yourself there, begin to shape yourself around that image. For example I have always pictured myself on the jacket of a book cover. In this picture I’ve always had long locs. Well the longer I put off locking my hair the longer that process will take right? I experienced a life altering event about a year ago and decided to loc at that time. Now I didn’t consciously do it to match up with the image of myself on the jacket cover but since I did that, I’ve been well on my way. Funny how that image I’ve been carrying is bringing itself to light. And I should probably add that though I pictured myself with locs I had no interest in ever wearing my hair that way. I mean I would have belted an emphatic HELL NO! If you told me my hair would be locked today.

Next you need to tell other people what you’re affirming. This is the hard part cause this can be kind of embarrassing. If your thinking of a desire that is intensely personal to you, you might not want to share it with anyone. You might be afraid of their response. I say forget their response today. Imagine their response when your actually living your dream. Do you know what that response will be? They will be saying, “I knew her when…” No matter how crazy it sounds just put it out there. Just be careful not to share too much with those toxic folks out there. You know, those dream killers. A perfect stranger would be better to share your dream with than one of them.

Make your affirmation a consistent part of your routine. You should affirm who you are to yourself daily…ALL DAY actually. This not only keeps you focused but it allows you to begin to really believe what you are telling yourself if you haven’t been already. In addition to that, you will find that you accomplish more in the way of achieving this goal when you set time aside in your daily routine to work on it, even if you are still only thinking about it or mapping it out. Mental energy is REAL energy. So what you focus your thoughts on will manifest in some way eventually.

There i s no last step to this process, it’s as perpetual as breathing. Like every breath, each thought will take you to the next. You’ll be amazed at where you end up!

I hope you got a little inspiration out of this. Look for my next post coming soon, and I should have a link for you to follow so I can show you first hand how far affirmation can take you!  Until next time…Peace and Power!

Aset Musheera (Shemeka Hollis) is a DC artist, poet, essayist, mother, sister, student, lover, awesome best-friend, and enthusiastic liver of life. She revels in the journey of the life experience and encourages everyone to explore the inner passions keep tucked away in the vessel we mistake for our identity. She is silly. She is cogent. She is loving. She is present in this experience. She IS. Bless

Leave a Reply

