Reconvergence of Divergent Paths

One of my favorite poems depicts the oft accurate story of my life journey:

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And being one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth.

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same.

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

~Road not Taken by Robert Frost

So I took the path of entrepreneur, sensual lifestyle and wellness coach.  After all the (law) schooling, (office) training, (fun) sacrifice, and attention not paid to the naysayers.  I loved helping people to manifest their deepest desires, having control of my time, and living a sensually spiritual lifestyle and being authentically delicious 100% of my time.  La-la-la-laaaaa…

Enter a contracting economy.  With a dwindling client base and mounting financial stress I decided to get a daytime office contract gig.  Nothing ambitious, just something easy that yields a predictable base pay and requires no overtime.  But of course, nothing could be so easy for me.  Just shifting the remaining clients from daytime to evening, going on the short commute (to the other side of my neighborhood), doing some boring paperwork, and then coming back to my delicious life.  Not quite.  I ended up in a slightly different (higher) position than I had applied for.  Word got out quickly that I’m also a lawyer and the responsibilities quickly multiplied and I found myself being sucked into the miserable abyss of indentured corporate (gum-ment) servitude.

A series of unbelievable events occurred and a year and a half later I found myself popped right into a real legal position under the wings of two top-notch mentors from my alma mater, earning a decent keep.  Wha?  Nooooooo!  This was not what I intended to happen!  I thought I was leaving all this behind when I founded LifeBliss Solutions.  I wondered what would happen to my delicious life now?  But this opportunity is one I could not refuse.  So in the true spirit of sensual spirituality I decided to take it on, and just go with it.  It was undeniable that I could shore up resources for the future of LifeBliss for years to come.  I didn’t only decide to go with this, I decided to bring my delicious life along with me.

Living a delicious life does not mean always being free to do whatever you want, whenever you want.  I’d almost forgotten that it means always making the best of what you have in the present moment.  After all, it has been my life work to help others live deliciously, whatever their current circumstance may be.  Now I had the opportunity to demonstrate in real-time.

I happily took on the new challenge and obtained the necessary assistance with LifeBliss’s functions, which I now have ample resources to procure.  There are many bright sides to this spot I am in right now and since I am more comfortable that LifeBliss Solutions will continue to thrive and support the mission to change the world, one person at a time, I feel fully delicious again.  It’s as though I have one foot on two different paths and I like it. With me, things never go as the textbook predicts.  So I’ll just go with it.

Leave a Reply

