Rowdy Gray Hairs: A Good Sign?

I was running late this morning.  My excuse is that I woke up with a few too many gray straggly hairs around my hairline and I had to remove them.

I have nothing against gray hair.  Salt and pepper locs are beautiful and distinguishing.  But my gray straggles are strange, wirey, and like to party. The rest of my dark hair is (nappy) coiled tightly enough to display my ethnic African ancestry, which makes for luxurious locs and I like that.  But the gray straggles are not coiled, not curly, not straight, not wavy.  They are crooked.  They are new and short so they’re not contained in my locs and they don’t know or care which way to go.  They absolutely refuse to join the dark hairs in my locs in an orderly fashion.  For those of you who know me, you know that I’m fairly methodical about keeping my hair neatly groomed and smelling fresh at all times.  So you know why these little buggers are getting on my last nerve.

The gray hairs like to get down.  They throw their hands in the air and wave them like they just don’t care.  And they really don’t care!

So here’s what I was thinking.  I do not have a problem with growing older.  As a matter of fact, I look forward to the time when I can just say whatever and the hell I want out my mouth and act a damn fool and get away with it.  People will say, “Don’t worry about that crazy Miss Lisa, she’s just old”…  Maybe the hairs are just giving me a vision of what’s to come. I won’t be going with the other orderly old ladies to the church or whatever.  I’m probably gonna stick all out, get all crooked, and wave my hands in the air and not care.

Leave a Reply

