10 Pounds, 30 days, and No Boring or Nasty Crap

I decided on September 5 that I want to lose 10 pounds of fat, not water or muscle in 30 days.   I lost weight and felt great in June of this year but much of that belly pooch has crept back again (which also lets me know that a lot of the original weight loss was water because the body can not put on that much fat so quickly).  I allowed the super hot weather influence me to stay inside in the air conditioning and drink my friend Reba’s home made rum punch and eat jank just a few times too many.

Fake Wax Food by Silkytyme.com

NO FAKE FOOD!

Now I want it all back, the fabulous feeling, the super high energy and the cute outfits.  So here’s my fool-proof plan.  I am not going on a diet.  I never do because they suck.  Right now I am focused on eating nutrient dense food (if anybody is interested I can provide more complete details on this, just let me know).  I’m not having any nasty fake processed food.    Only fresh, colorful, delicious, whole, gastronomic delights.  I have recipes.

Autumn is the absolute best time for this because of the bountiful harvest at the farmer’s markets.  There is such a variety of fresh, whole, delicious things to eat.   Honeycrisp apples will be available soon!  These are the most delicious apples I have ever had in my life.  I can’t get enough of them and my daughter will scarf down 2-3 of them in a day.  I get mad when she eats the last one and leaves me none.

Play is exercise.  I’m not buying a gym membership or an expensive  boring machine.  I am going to play. I have a big heavy hula hoop, a jump rope, Francie’s yoga class, my bellydance class, Wii Fit, Dance Dance Revolution, some good (crazy fast) soca music, and a bike.  That’s it: fun and play.

Anybody care to join me on the 10-pound 30-day adventure?

Man on Rat Wheel

NO BORING CRAP

This is not an ad for the yoga or bellydance classes although you are invited to join.  But you could also just dig in your own closet and find some toys to play with or even better, throw a huge fun soca dance party every weekend and invite me!  We can share ideas and experiences to help make this a non-painful, non-boring experience.

I must warn you though, there is actually more to this plan.  Balance is key.  For example, I know I want to go out with friends this weekend for wine and tapas.  I hate going out with (or being) one of those “I’m on a diet so I’m gonna have the salad and water at this great restaurant”-type people so I must offset this moderate indulgence with something–more activities, or decreased caloric intake.  There is a science to this.  Not rocket science, but a little bit of brain work is required.

Ok?  Let’s go!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BIOCHEMISTA
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 00:20:29

    Hi! My name is Lauren from http://www.Biochemista.com. I found you through Healthy Living Blogs. I’m trying to put together a group of DCers to meet-up for a happy hour meet and greet. Are you on twitter? You can follow me at LaurBiochemista and search #dchealthblogger for updates. I’ll also be posting on my blog about events. Hope to meet you!

    Lauren

    Reply

    • Lisa Rasa Devi
      Sep 12, 2010 @ 09:22:44

      Nice to meet you, Lauren. Thank you for the invite. I would love to meet with other locals who are interested in health and wellness. I may even run into you out on the Mall. I am on Twitter, same name Lisa_Rasa_Devi.

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Nutritional Density: Let me break it on down (Part 1) « Passion Fruit
  3. Trackback: The 10 Pounds in 30 Days Plan Went Bust: I Confess « Passion Fruit
  4. Trackback: The 10 Pounds in 30 Days Plan Went Bust: I Confess

Leave a Reply

